Counseling Department

  • If you would like a 1st Semester Drop Form, please visit the Counseling Office and pick up a paper copy 

    Last Day to Drop with a "W" is December 16th

    MIHS 2023 AP EXAM REGISTRATION & PAYMENT INFORMATION

     


    Please join me in welcoming or welcoming back the members of our counseling team:


    Susie Brown (Last Names A – D) susie.brown@mercerislandschools.org

    With three decades of experience as a MI counselor, Susie is well known on The
    Island for her diligent and individualized care for students. Her experience with our
    school provides our entire team with the perspective of the successes and struggles
    of MI students through time and serves as a bridge between the traditions within
    our school and those onboarding.

    Anam Schlueter (Last Names (E-J) anam.schlueter@mercerislandschools.org

    Coming to MI from Mt. Vernon, Anam possesses a wealth of life experiences and
    expertise in working with people experiencing trauma, as well as finding individual
    post-secondary connections for students. Speaking five languages, Anam is a lifelong learner, who brings that energy to her school. Her past co-workers describe her as “simply amazing”.

    James Tanksley (Last Names K – M) james.tanksley@mercerislandschools.org

    After serving in Federal Way through the epidemic and leading their counseling
    department through this time, James brings particular skills to the wide array of functions of school counselor. Above all, James brings deep care for the well-
    being of students and has the skills to support them in our environment of high expectations.

    Molly Smith (Last Names N – Si) molly.smith@mercerislandschools.org

    Moving cross country from Newport, New Hampshire, Molly brings expertise
    with high school scheduling, college admissions testing, and a wide array of
    student learning styles over many grade levels. Her previous colleagues
    describe her as honest, direct, and always caring for the best interest of her
    students. Her experience with diverse high school learners also stands out.

    Katy Johnson (Last Names Sj – Z) katy.johnson@mercerislandschools.org

    Arriving from Waukesha Wisconsin, Katy brings experience in supporting
    the community at Waukesha South High School following the tragedy they
    experienced this past year. Well beyond that experience, Kay develops fun
    and supportive relationships with her students. Her families have
    appreciated the holistic care from SEL support to academic counseling. As a
    recent recipient of her Master’s Degree in Counseling from the University
    of Wisconsin, she also has insight into what it means to be a student
    through this time.

    For those concerned with the continuity of service with a new counselor, please know that Associate Principals Erica Hill (A-I), Nick Wold (J – R), and Lisa Deen (S – Z) will continue to support the same cohort of students and partner regularly with counselors serving students under their mutual care.

    To support the work of our counselors, the MI Counseling Team includes:

    Monica Moline (Registrar) monica.moline@mercerislandschools.org

    As a parent to MIHS graduates and with extensive experience in office
    management, sales, and as an executive assistant, Monica brings a unique
    combination of prerequisite skills and an understanding of the needs of our
    students and the community.

    Lisa Jandusay (Office Assistant) lisa.jandusay@mercerislandschools.org

    Returning this year and after years of service in parochial schools, Lisa’s warm approach combined with her already significant knowledge of our students, provides a caring
    persona with care to our counseling center.

    Kyle Mosler (Office Assistant) kyle.mosler@mercerislandschools.org

    While Kyle continues to serve in his part-time role of MI Drill and Dance Team
    Director, he now comes to us full time to support the needs of students, particularly
    through college admissions. Along with Lisa, their welcoming presence and
    connection with students create a great environment within the center.

    Debbie Hanson (Testing Coordinator) debbie.hanson@mercerislandschools.org

    Debbie continues to serve in so many ways at MI. Her intelligence, flexibility, and
    organization have supported many classes of graduates with testing needs and well
    beyond. Debbie has served as a substitute counselor for two counselors over the
    past few years and always shows the ability to find student and family needs and to
    connect them with answers.


  • COUNSELOR OF THE DAY SCHEDULE
    (Both lunches outside of the Counseling Office doors)
     
    MONDAY - Anam Schlueter
    TUESDAY -  James Tanksley
    WEDNESDAY - Katy Johnson
    THURSDAY - Susie Brown
    FRIDAY - Molly Smith

  • Additional Counseling Services are provided by licensed counselors employed by Mercer Island Youth and Family Services, who have offices at MIHS and provide additional counseling services to students at Mercer Island High School daily.
     
    Chris Harnish - Substance Abuse and Intervention 
    Caleb Visser - Student, Family, and Group Counseling 
  • Mercer Island High School 9100 SE 42ndStreet Mercer Island, WA 98040
    Phone (206) 236-3354   FAX (206) 230-6352