Counseling Department

  •  Counseling Homepage graphic

     

    NEW AND MOST RECENT INFORMATION 

    Counseling Center Curriculum Night Video

    Senior Post Secondary Application Process Video

    MIHS AP Exam Registration & Payment Video 2021

    Naviance- College Search SuperMatch 

    Naviance- College Scattergram feature  

    Naviance- Virtual RepVisits

     

     

    MAIL ONLY COLLEGES:

    * Please Note: International mail can take longer than ten days and given the pandemic situation possibly longer. We will need more than 20 days submission requests to counselors, or we can not guarantee a timely arrival of their transcripts/documents to its destination.  

    Imperial College of London

    International Christian University

    Japan Universities (30+ schools)

    New Saint Andrews College

    UC Online Education (college in high school)

    UC San Francisco (medical field)

    UC, Davis Extension (Bakersfield, CA)

    UCLA Extension

    Univeristy of Hawaii Hilo

    University of Sydney (Australia)

    Yale School of Music

     

    Dear Islanders,

    We hope this message finds you safe and in good health!  There is no doubt that over the last several months, we have witnessed an unprecedented change to the world as we know it due to the spread of COVID-19. Our daily lives have been surely affected, creating in each of us a mixture of emotions, some of which may be new and unfamiliar. There is no greater time to be mindful of self-care, both physically and emotionally.   

    As your Counseling Team, we want to assure you that we are here for you!!  

    Our immediate goals:

    • Be accessible to you during our normal school hours - Mon - Fri   8:00am - 3:15pm
    • Remain vigilant in our efforts to provide counseling services to the best of our creative abilities
    • Provide relevant and helpful resources

    Below you’ll find our contact information along with a list of resources. This resource list will continue to evolve as needed so feel free to check our website often for new information. For local social services information, please call 211.  If you have a life-threatening emergency, immediately call 911.  

    Despite current events, please know that you remain first and foremost on our minds. We hope to work together with you to make it through this challenging time.  

    Stay Safe and Take Good Care! 

    Your Counseling Team

     

    COVID-19 Family Support Resources Information regarding Free Meals, Child Care, Online Learning, Tech Assistance & General FAQ

    211 Information on Local Community Resources 

    Teen Link Confidential and Anonymous Help Line with a trained teen volunteer

    MIYFS Youth & Family Services - Mercer Island

    Crisis Connections Local 24-Hr Crisis Line 

    AP Central Updates on AP Testing

    CollegeBoard Information on SAT Testing

    ACT Information on ACT Testing

     

    MIHS Counseling Team

    Susie Brown (A-D)        susie.brown@mercerislandschools.org

    Susan Sutherin (E-J)     susan.sutherin@mercerislandschools.org

    Thomas Welch (K L M) (on leave)     thomas.welch@mercerislandschools.org

    Debbie Hanson (interim K L M) debbie.hanson@mercerislandschools.org

    Cathleen Johnson (N - Si)   Cathleen.Johnson@mercerislandschools.org

    Jimmy Vasquez (Sj - Z)  jimmy.vasquez@mercerislandschools.org

     

    Barb Shephard - Registrar barb.shephard@mercerislandschools.org

    Kristin Brintnall - Office Assistant  kristin.brintnall@mercerislandschools.org

    Edith Lopez-Salvador - College & Career/Office Assistant - edith.lopez-salvador@mercerislandschools.org

             

    Additional Counseling Services are provided by licensed counselors employed by Mercer Island Youth and Family Services, who have offices at MIHS and provide additional counseling services to students daily at Mercer Island High School.
    • Chris Harnish - Substance Abuse and Intervention 
    • Ariel Schacter - Student, Family, and Group Counseling 
     
  • Mercer Island High School 9100 SE 42ndStreet Mercer Island, WA 98040
    Phone (206) 236-3354   FAX (206) 230-6352