Theory of Relativity

Theory of Relativity
  • Description and performance dates: From Drama Desk Award nominees Neil Bartram and Brian Hill (The Story of My Life), The Theory of Relativity is a joyous and moving look about our surprisingly interconnected lives.  Whether you're allergic to cats, in love for the first or tenth time, a child of divorce, a germaphobe or simply a unique individual, audience members and actors alike are sure to find themselves in this fresh new musical. Through a seemingly unrelated collection of songs, scenes and monologues, The Theory of Relativity introduces a compelling array of characters experiencing the joys and heartbreaks, the liaisons and losses, the inevitability and the wonder of human connection. 


    Join the students of the MIHS Drama Department, sponsored by the Mercer Island Drama Boosters as they present a show about distance and connection. Stream this musical from home (information below) on the following dates and times:

    May 13 at 7pm

    May 14 at 7pm

    May 15 at 2pm

    May 15 at 7pm

    May 20 at 7pm

    May 21 at 7pm

    May 22 at 2pm

    May 22 at 7pm


    Where to buy tickets: 

    Please follow this link--

    General admission is $10, and students grades K-12 are $5. Proceeds will go to the MISD Drama Boosters (, who are sponsoring this show. If you feel compelled to donate more money to the Boosters, please go to their website and follow their donation links. 


    How to watch: Once you reserve your tickets through ShowTix4U, they will email you a link address for the show/time you will be viewing. You only need one streampass per household.

    Cast list is below.



    Amy: Katharine Gregory

    Caroline: Caroline Thompson

    Catherine: Sadie Jensen

    Jenny: Kyra McPherson

    Julie: Mimi Pitiela

    Mira: Sophia Dondisch

    Sara: Annabel Rimmer

    Olivia: Catherine Grady

    Mika: Molly Atkinson

    Adam: Kylie Drake

    Anthony: Giovee Roque

    Paul: Greg Chvany

    Ryan: Charlie Kwak

    Ensemble: Madi Chew, Kate Petersen


    Production Crew:

    Direction: Daniela Melgar and Victoria Spero

    Musical Direction: Heather MacLaughlin Garbes

    Stage manager: Emily Elbaum

    Technical Direction, Lighting Design and Sound Engineering: John Parker

    Assistant student director: Lainie Schwartz

    Videographer: Ailisa Newhall

    Alicia Healey: Audio design engineer



    Conductor: Heather MacLaughlin Garbes

    Keyboard 1: Peter Garbes

    Keyboard 2: Quinn Haba

    Guitar: Matthew Pang

    Bass: Alexander Aylen

    Drums: Aidan Hart