Counseling Department

  • IMPORTANT DATES

    • June 1 - Last day to DROP a course (grades 9-11)
    • June 5 - Senior check out (return books, iPads, etc.  See details below under “Seniors”)
    • June 9 - Class of 2020 Graduation!!!  (See details below under “Seniors”)
    • June 19 - Last day of school for grades 9-11

    Dear Islanders,

    We hope this message finds you safe and in good health!  There is no doubt that over the last several weeks, we have witnessed an unprecedented change to the world as we know it due to the spread of COVID-19. Our daily lives have been surely affected, creating in each of us a mixture of emotions, some of which may be new and unfamiliar. There is no greater time to be mindful of self-care, both physically and emotionally.   

    As your Counseling Team, we want to assure you that we are here for you!!  

    Our immediate goals:

    • Be accessible to you during our normal school hours - Mon - Fri   8:00am - 3:15pm
    • Remain vigilant in our efforts to provide counseling services to the best of our creative abilities
    • Provide relevant and helpful resources

    Below you’ll find our contact information along with a list of resources. This resource list will continue to evolve as needed so feel free to check our website often for new information. For local social services information, please call 211.  If you have a life-threatening emergency, immediately call 911.  

    Despite current events, please know that you remain first and foremost on our minds. We hope to work together with you to make it through this challenging time.  

    Stay Safe and Take Good Care! 

    Your Counseling Team

     

    COVID-19 Family Support Resources Information regarding Free Meals, Child Care, Online Learning, Tech Assistance & General FAQ

    211 Information on Local Community Resources 

    Teen Link Confidential and Anonymous Help Line with a trained teen volunteer

    MIYFS Youth & Family Services - Mercer Island

    Crisis Connections Local 24-Hr Crisis Line 

    AP Central Updates on AP Testing

    CollegeBoard Information on SAT Testing

    ACT Information on ACT Testing

     

    MIHS Counseling Team

    Susie Brown (A-D)        susie.brown@mercerislandschools.org

    Susan Sutherin (E-J)     susan.sutherin@mercerislandschools.org

    Thomas Welch (K L M)    thomas.welch@mercerislandschools.org

    Jeff Jones (N - Si)     jeff.jones@mercerislandschools.org

    Jimmy Vasquez (Sj - Z)  jimmy.vasquez@mercerislandschools.org

     

    Barb Shephard - Registrar barb.shephard@mercerislandschools.org

    Kristin Brintnall - Secretary  kristin.brintnall@mercerislandschools.org

    Edith Lopez-Salvador - Secretary edith.lopez-salvador@mercerislandschools.org

             

    Additional Counseling Services are provided by licensed counselors employed by Mercer Island Youth and Family Services, who have offices at MIHS and provide additional counseling services to students daily at Mercer Island High School.
    • Chris Harnish - Substance Abuse and Intervention 
    • Ariel Schacter - Student, Family, and Group Counseling 
     
  • Mercer Island High School 9100 SE 42ndStreet Mercer Island, WA 98040
    Phone (206) 236-3354   FAX (206) 230-6352